McPherson County Board Minutes



MCPHERSON COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONER'S PROCEEDINGS SPECIAL MEETING - DECEMBER 21, 2018

The McPherson County Board of Commissioners met as per adjournment of December 10,2018, for a special meeting called to interview potential Sheriff candidates. Notice of meeting having been published in the Stapleton Enterprise, issue dated December 13, 2018. The meeting was called to order at 9:00 A.M. by Chairman Arensdorf, who noted the Open Meetings Law, which is posted in the meeting room. Members Harold Arensdorf, Carl Rundback & John Bryant were present. Also present was the County Clerk Judy Dailey, County Attorney Whitney Lindstedt, County Clerk Elect Kathy Hoberg and County Commissioner Elect Brett Nason. Rundback moved to approve the minutes of the last meeting. Bryant 2nd. Voting AYE: Bryant, Rundback & Arensdorf. Voting NAY: None.

Interviews were held with McPherson County Sheriff Applicants Jimmy Collins, Corey Neal and Kelly Williams. After lengthy discussions with all candidates, Rundback moved to appoint Kelly Williams as McPherson County Sheriff, for a 4 year term, effective January 3, 2019. If Mr. Williams fails to take the offered position by January 3, 2019, then it will be offered to Corey Neal. Bryant 2nd. Voting AYE: Rundback & Bryant. Voting NAY: Arensdorf. Discussion was made on giving employees Christmas Eve, December 24th as a holiday, as it has been declared a state and federal holiday by President Trump. Bryant moved to give the county employees Christmas Eve, December 24, 2018 as a holiday. Rundback 2nd. Voting AYE: Bryant, Rundback & Arensdorf. Voting NAY: None.

Rundback moved to approve <u>RESOLUTION # 2018-14</u>, approving the purchase of the 2011 Ford F-250 Super Duty XL 4x4, 4 door crew cab 8 ft long truck, for the Road Department, with financing taken from the Inheritance Tax Fund and being repaid back into the Inheritance Tax Fund, with payments each month for a 4 year term. Arensdorf 2nd. Voting AYE: Rundback, Arensdorf & Bryant. Voting NAY: None.

All new County Officials will be sworn into office at 1:30 P.M. on January 3, 2019 by County Court Magistrate Brenda Cochran. There being no further business, the Board adjourned at 11:25 A.M. to meet again at 9:00 A.M. on January 9, 2019, for their annual Statutory Meeting. This meeting will be held at the McPherson County Courthouse in Tryon and is open to the public.

ATTEST:		
	McPherson County Clerk	McPherson County Board Chairman



McPherson County Board Minutes

