MCPHERSON COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS AND BOARD OF EQUALIZATION PROCEEDINGS IUNE 10, 2024

The McPherson County Board of Commissioners met as per adjournment of **May 15, 2024**, for their regular monthly meeting. Notice of meeting having been published in the Stapleton Enterprise, issue dated June 6, 2024. The meeting was called to order at 9:03 AM by Chairman Bryant, who noted the Open Meetings Law, which is posted on the North wall of the meeting room. Members John Bryant, Brett Nason and Jeff Arensdorf were present. Also present were County Attorney Whitney Schroeder, Highway Superintendent Tom Werblow, County Clerk Kathy Hoberg, Road Workers Ed Black and Kasey Dailey. Arensdorf moved to approve the minutes of the last meeting as presented. Nason seconded. Voting Aye: Arensdorf, Nason and Bryant. Voting Nay: None.

Nason made a motion to approve the following claims as presented. Arensdorf seconded. Voting Aye: Nason, Arensdorf and Bryant. Voting Nay: None.

GENERAL		AMOUNT
Payroll	Wages	26,975.85
Ameritas	Retirement	1638.88
Sandra Black	Election Board	36.00
Blue Cross Blue Shield	Health Insurance	11104.88
Custer Public Power	Lights/Electricity	704.03
DAS ST Accounting	Computer Expenses	172.00
Grant Writing USA	Training	465.00
Great Plains	C C	539.37
Communication	Telephone/Internet	
Great Plains		57.96
Communication	Emergency Mngmt	90.00
Heartland Sprinkler Systems	Grounds Supplies	90.00
Ideal Linen	Supplies	132.84
IRS	SS/Medicare	2,013.31
Keith Co. Communications	Tower Maintenance/Svcs	12,128.02
Karen Licking	Election Board	183.00
Lincoln County Treasurer	Extension Contract	5,335.20
Chelsey McNutt	Park Contract	287.50
McPherson County Sheriff	Plat Map	26.38
McPherson County	i lat map	20.00
Treasurer	Unprocessed Check	146.79
MIPS	Data Processing/Computer	1,085.78
NCRAAO Conference	Assessor Workshop	300.00
Neal Oil & Auto	Fuel/Supplies	380.60
Margaret Neal	Election Board	217.84
NIRMA	Insurance	13,657.00
North Platte Hardware	Building Supplies	109.75
Toni Powers	Election Board	51.00
Pamela Schmidt	Election Board	188.36
Schroeder & Schroeder	_	000.00
Attys	Dues	200.00
Whitney Schroeder	Mileage	104.52
Stapleton Enterprise	Printing/Publishing	1,350.55
Trugreen	Grounds Supplies	314.00
US Bank	Office/Janitor Supplies	279.72
Viaero	Sheriff Phone	121.17
Village of Stapleton	Trash Disposal	3,000.00
Kelly Ward	Election Board	200.48
Western Cartographers Donald Wilson CPA	Plat Map	21.38
DUITAIU VVIISUII CPA	Audit	5,000.00

ROAD		AMOUNT
Payroll	Wages	13,540.00
Ace Hardware	Supplies	135.97
Ameritas	Retirement	846.45
Blue Cross Blue Shield	Health Insurance	2766.04
Croell Inc.	Gravel	23,025.88
Dawson Tire & Wheel	Equipment Repairs	1,663.63
Galaway Field Repair	Equipment Repairs	637.50
Great Plains Comm	Phone/Internet	106.47
IRS	County Share SS/Med	1,033.44
JM Parts and Equipment	Equipment Repairs	91.24
Level LLC	Hauling	7,280.00
McPherson Co. Inheritance	Reimbursement Payments	1,412.72
McPherson Co. Treasurer	Outstanding Check	45.60
NAPA Auto Parts	Equipment Repairs	112.04
Neal Oil & Auto	Fuel/Supplies	5,087.83
Nebraska Truck Center	Equipment Repairs	72.69
NIRMA	Insurance	16,762.00
Seevers Tire & Auto	Equipment Repairs	1,755.12
TC Engineering	Highway Supt	750.00
FAIR		
Ideal Linen	Supplies	38.61
Sandhill Catering LLC	Fair Meat	1,000.00
SENIOR MEAL PROGRAM		
Prairie Hills Café McPherson County	Senior Meals	3,410.00
Treasurer	Office Supplies - Checks	243.75

County Treasurer, Kerri Kramer discussed the Fund Balance Reports with the commissioners. There was also discussion about the RV Lodging at Miller Park. The county is required to begin collecting sales tax and lodging tax on any fees collected for lodging. Nason made a motion to increase the fee to \$15.00 per day which will cover the cost of electricity, sales tax and lodging tax. Arensdorf seconded. Voting Aye: Nason, Arensdorf and Bryant. Voting Nay: None.

County Clerk, Kathy Hoberg gave an update on the new process of the BCBS Deductible which was raised to \$1100.00 for the new year, with the county doing an HRA Buy Down on the Deductible.

The board reviewed the 3-Year Plan of Assessment presented by the County Assessor, Kathy Hoberg. Nason made a motion to approve and sign the plan. Arensdorf seconded. Voting Aye: Nason, Arensdorf, and Bryant. Voting Nay: None.

Aflac representative, DeeAnn Cross, was present and met with each employee concerning renewal of their plans. All Aflac enrollment is voluntary and paid 100% by the employee.

Arensdorf made a motion to appoint Marvin Hasenauer to the Veteran's Service Board. Nason seconded. Voting Aye: Arensdorf, Nason and Bryant. Voting Nay: None.

The Commissioners continue to look for a replacement for Lindsey Bernal on the Fair Board.

<u>At 10:30 AM</u> Nason made a motion to recess the meeting and convene as Board of Equalization. Arensdorf seconded the motion. Voting Aye: Nason, Arensdorf and Bryant. Voting Nay: None. Chairman of the BOE, Jeff Arensdorf, called the meeting to order. The meeting notice had been published in the Stapleton Enterprise; issue dated June 6, 2024. There were no Valuation Protests filed for hearing. The BOE meeting was adjourned at 10:45 AM.

The Board of Commissioners meeting re-convened at 10:46 AM.

Arensdorf moved to approve and sign the annual audit report completed by Donald D. Wilson, CPA. Nason seconded. Voting Aye: Arensdorf, Nason and Bryant. Voting Nay: None. **The audit report has been completed and is on file in the office of the County Clerk.**

Bryant moved to accept and sign the contract for the Senior Meal Program. Arensdorf seconded the motion. Voting Aye: Bryant, Arensdorf and Nason. Voting Nay: None.

Arensdorf made a motion to sign a letter of *Acceptance of Possession* for the newly installed Courtroom A/V System, which was installed by the state. Bryant seconded. Voting Aye: Arensdorf and Bryant. Voting Nay: Nason.

The board received and reviewed letters from Bridge of Hope and Region II which state McPherson County's participation costs for the new budget year.

The board reviewed the new Billing Statement for NIRMA/NIRMA II County insurance. The Total Annual Contribution amount for 2024-2025 will be \$30,419. This represents a 0.18 percent increase from last year.

Roads were discussed with Kasey Dailey and Ed Black. Nason made a motion to approve the June Road Plan as presented by Bryant. Arensdorf seconded. Voting Aye: Nason, Arensdorf and Bryant. Voting Nay: None.

A Safety Committee Meeting was held. Those present were Tom Werblow, Jeff Arensdorf, Brett Nason, John Bryant, Whitney Schroeder, Kathy Hoberg, Ed Black and Kasey Dailey. Tom Werblow gave flyers and information about *Chainsaw Safety*.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 11:00 AM.

The next regular Board of Commissioner's meeting will be held at 9:00 AM on **July 10, 2024**. This meeting will be held in the McPherson County Courthouse and will be open to the public.

John E. Bryant McPherson County Board Chairman

Katherine E. Hoberg McPherson County Clerk