## MCPHERSON COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS AND BOARD OF EQUALIZATION PROCEEDINGS December 11, 2024

The McPherson County Board of Commissioners met as per adjournment of **November 13, 2024**, for their regular monthly meeting. Notice of meeting having been posted in the Stapleton Enterprise issue dated **December 5, 2024**, and the McPherson County Website, <a href="https://www.mcphersoncounty.ne.gov">www.mcphersoncounty.ne.gov</a>. The meeting was called to order at 9:00 AM by Chairman Bryant, who noted the Open Meetings Law, which is posted on the North wall of the meeting room. Members John Bryant, Brett Nason and Jeff Arensdorf were present. Also present were the Highway Superintendent Tom Werblow, Sheriff K.C. Bang, County Attorney Whitney Schroeder, and County Clerk Kathy Hoberg. Arensdorf made a motion to approve the minutes of the last meeting as presented. Nason seconded. Voting Aye: Nason and Bryant. Arensdorf abstained, as he was absent from the last meeting. Voting Nay: None.

After examination, Nason made a motion to approve the following claims as presented. Arensdorf seconded. Voting Aye: Nason, Arensdorf and Bryant. Voting Nay: None.

GENERAL		AMOUNT
Payroll	Wages	25,878.85
Ameritas	Retirement	1564.84
Applied Connective	IT Consultant	806.60
At&T Mobility	Sheriff Phone	54.70
Kenneth Bang	Safety Equipment	60.81
Sandra Black	Election Board	48.00
Blue Cross Blue Shield	Health Insurance	11104.88
Brouillette Troshynski	Court App Atty	488.50
Richard Cook	Mileage	21.44
Custer Public Power	Lights/Electricity	581.19
DAS ST. Accounting	Computer Expenses	172.00
Datashield	Shredding	107.52
Eakes Office Plus	Supplies	67.52
Election Systems &		1776.13
Software	Election Supplies	
First Concord Benefits	Deductible Buy-Down	532.00
Great Plains Comm	Telephone/Internet	541.06
Great Plains Comm	Emergency Mngmt	57.96
Ideal Linen	Janitorial Supplies	138.16
IRS	SS/Medicare	1,910.85
Caleb Johnson	Budget Prep	2,491.96
Rhonda Kemp	Election Board	192.00
Karen Licking	Election Board	180.00
Chelsey McNutt	Park Contract	287.50
MIPS	Data Processing/Computer	1,104.22
NE Sheriff's Assn	Dues	175.00
Neal Oil & Auto	Fuel	745.30
Margaret Neal	Election Board	214.84
Toni Powers	Election Board	42.00
Pamela Schmidt	Election Board	165.35
Stapleton Enterprise	Printing/Publishing	196.71
US Bank	Supplies/Expenses	1,215.47
Verizon	County Court Phone	55.55
Viaero	Sheriff Phone	134.32
Village of Stapleton	Garbage Disposal	3,000.00

ROAD		AMOUNT
Payroll	Wages	11,032.00
Al's Towing	Equipment Repairs	938.00
Ameritas	Retirement	677.16
Blue Cross Blue Shield	Health Insurance	2766.04
Croell Inc.	Gravel	8,693.33
Fastenal Company	Equipment Repairs	24.54
First Concord Benefits	Deductible Buy-Down	16.00
Great Plains Comm	Phone/Internet	107.37
Inland Truck Parts	Equipment Repairs	1,256.06
IRS	County Share SS/Med	841.59
McPherson Co.		
Inheritance	Reimbursement Payments	2,515.00
Michael Todd Industrial	Signs	797.48
Neal Oil & Auto	Fuel/Supplies	5,470.22
T&S Repair LLC	Equipment Repairs	801.20
TC Engineering	Highway Supt	750.00
Titan Machinery	Equipment Repairs	264.77
US Bank	Supplies	31.62
FAIR		
Ideal Linen	Supplies	41.29
Prairie Hills Café	Fair Supplies	220.00
SENIOR MEAL		
PROGRAM		
Prairie Hills Café	Senior Meals	3,124.00

Rich Cook was present and presented the board with a Weed Report. Each commissioner was given a written copy of the report, and it was signed by Chairman Bryant.

Morgan Miller was present and presented the board with a Request for Road Work on Miller Drive. After discussion, Bryant made a motion to add the project to the road plan. Nason seconded. Voting Aye: Bryant, Nason and Arensdorf. Voting Nay: None.

At 9:30 AM, Chad Engle from NiRMA was present to discuss the role of the Safety Committee. Everyone present was given a packet outlining *Best Safety Practices for Members*. This provides information to the county regarding safe practices in the courthouse and road shop, as well as employee safety and county liability issues.

A Memorandum of Understanding for 2025 Community-Based Juvenile Services Aid was signed by Chairman Bryant. Motion made by Nason, seconded by Arensdorf. Voting Aye: Nason, Arensdorf and Bryant. Voting Nav: None.

John Bryant was designated as McPherson County representative to vote for NACO offices at the Annual Convention. Kathy Hoberg will be the alternate.

Nason made a motion to designate the Stapleton Enterprise and <a href="www.mcphersoncounty.ne.gov">www.mcphersoncounty.ne.gov</a> as the official county newspaper and means of communication for 2025. Arensdorf seconded. Voting Aye: Nason, Arensdorf and Bryant. Voting Nay: None.

Ed Black reported that the road crew has been grading roads, repairing holes and adding rock to roads throughout the county.

Nason moved to approve the Road Plan as presented by Arensdorf with the addition of Miller Road. Bryant seconded the motion. Voting Aye: Nason, Bryant and Arensdorf. Voting Nay: None.

There was a Safety Committee meeting held. Those present were, Tom Werblow, Whitney Schroeder, John Bryant, Brett Nason, Kathy Hoberg, Ed Black, Ron Munson, and Kasey Dailey. Werblow gave flyers and information about *How to Improve Safety with Signs and Top Four Construction Hazards*.

The Commissioners received the Fund Balance Reports from the Treasurer.

The Clerk gave the Commissioners an email which was received from Don Wilson. The email gives the county advance notice that, due to personal reasons, he will not be renewing our audit engagement following the Spring audit. Therefore, the county will begin the search for a new auditor.

There being no further business, the Board adjourned at 11:25 AM to meet again at 9:00 AM on January 8, 2025, for their **annual re-organizational meeting**. This meeting will be held at the McPherson County Courthouse in Tryon and is open to the public.

John E. Bryant McPherson County Board Chairman

ATTEST: Katherine E. Hoberg McPherson County Clerk